# THE NINETEENTH NANI A. PALKHIVALA MEMORIAL LECTURE

at 11 a.m. on Saturday, 18th January 2025



N. A. PALKHIVALA



#### Nani A. Palkhivala Memorial Trust

C/o. Forum of Free Enterprise, Peninsula House, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor 235 Dr. D.N. Road, Mumbai 400001.

Tel: 022-46088687 • Email: forumfe1956@gmail.com Website: www.ffeindia.com • Twitter: @FFEconnect YouTube: Forum of Free Enterprise

### NANI A. PALKHIVALA (16.1.1920 – 11.12.2002)

Nani Palkhivala was Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India; Professor of Law, Govt. Law College, Mumbai; Tagore Professor of Law, Calcutta University & Member, First & Second Law Commissions. He was elected in 1975 Honorary Member of the Academy of Political Science, New York, in recognition of his "outstanding public service and distinguished contribution to the advancement of political science." Palkhivala argued a number of historical cases in the Courts of India and abroad, including the cases between India and Pakistan before the U.N. Special Tribunal in Geneva and the International Court of Justice at the Hague.

He authored several books including *The Law and Practice of Income-Tax*, a monumental work, which is the definitive treatise on the subject. Other books included *Taxation in India*, published by the Harvard University in the World Tax Series; *The Highest Taxed Nation in the World; Our Constitution Defaced and Defiled; India's Priceless Heritage; We, the People* and *We, the Nation*.

Nani Palkhivala was India's Ambassador to the U.S.A. from 1977 to 1979. Two American Universities – Lawrence University, Wisconsin and Princeton University, New Jersey - bestowed honorary doctorates on him. The Princeton University described him as ".....defender of constitutional liberties, champion of human rights, teacher, author and economic developer....". The Lawrence University described him as "What is human dignity? What rights are fundamental to an open society? What are the limits to political power? Ambassador Palkhivala, you, more than most, have pondered these great questions, and through achievements have answered them...."

Nani Palkhivala was associated with the Tata Group for about four decades. He was Director, Tata Sons Ltd; Chairman, TCS, Tata Infotech Ltd, & ACC Ltd and Director of several companies. He was Chairman of ACC Limited for over 26 years and Chairman Emeritus from 1969 until 1997. He was also President, Forum of Free Enterprise and Founder-Chairman, The A.D. Shroff Memorial Trust.

#### You are cordially invited by the Board of Trustees to

# The Nineteenth Nani A. Palkhivala Memorial Lecture

by

#### Dr. S. Jaishankar

(External Affairs Minister, Government of India)

on

## "India and the World"

at 11.00 a.m. on Saturday, 18<sup>th</sup> January 2025 at the Tata Theatre, NCPA, Nariman Point, Mumbai - 400021.

## Mr. Y. H. Malegam

(Chairman, Board of Trustees)

will preside

&

## Mr. Arvind P. Datar

(Trustee)

will propose the vote of thanks.

Note: Seats are available on a first-come-first served basis. No standees will be allowed.

#### NANI A. PALKHIVALA MEMORIAL TRUST

The Trust was set up in 2004 to perpetuate the memory of the outstanding jurist and authority on Constitution and taxation laws. Nani Palkhivala was also a passionate democrat, patriot, and above all, a great human being.

The main object of the Trust is the promotion, support and advancement of the causes that Nani Palkhivala ceaselessly espoused, such as democratic institutions, personal and civil liberties and rights enshrined in the Constitution, a society governed by just, fair and equitable laws and the institutions that oversee them, the primacy of liberal economic thinking for national development and the preservation of India's priceless heritage.

The previous Memorial Lectures were delivered by Mr. F.S. Nariman (2004), Mr. Arun Shourie (2005), Dr. Bimal Jalan (2006), Mr. N.R. Narayana Murthy (2007), Mr. Soli J. Sorabjee (2008), Mr. P. Chidambaram (2009), Prof. C.K. Prahalad (2010), Mr. Kapil Sibal (2011), Chief Justice S.H. Kapadia (2012), Dr. D. Subbarao (2013), Mr. Harish Salve (2014), Mr. Justice Santosh Hegde {Retd.} (2015), Dr. Raghuram Rajan (2016), Mrs. Arundhati Bhattacharya (2017), Dr. Kaushik Basu (2017), Mr. Justice Rohinton F. Nariman (2018), Mr. N. Chandrasekaran (2020) and Chief Justice Dr. D. Y. Chandrachud (2023).

The Board of Trustees consists of: Mr. Y.H. Malegam (Chairman), Mr. F.K. Kavarana, Mr. Bansi S. Mehta, Mr. Deepak S. Parekh, Mr. H.P. Ranina, Ms. S.K. Bharucha, Mr. Arvind Datar, Ms. Statira Ranina and Mr. Harish Bhat.

Arranged by:

Nani A. Palkhivala Memorial Trust in association with:

**Forum of Free Enterprise**